Ecommerce stores official website

Governor Larry Hogan – Official Website of the Governor of Maryland

Includes appointments to over 55 boards across the state

ANNAPOLIS, MD—Governor Larry Hogan submitted 131 nominations to the Maryland State Senate today. Nominations Secretary Chris Cavey presented Senate Speaker Bill Ferguson with the names of the “green bag” nominees, including 62 women, or nearly half of all appointees.

“Since I first took office in 2015, I have strived to appoint qualified Marylanders who reflect the diversity of our great state,” Governor Hogan said. “I am confident that these appointees will serve their respective boards with integrity and help us continue to change Maryland for the better.”

This year’s “green bag” includes nominations for more than 55 different boards and commissions across the state. Some of the nominations include:

Keith J. Wolfe, Anne Arundel County, Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund Trustees—President of Swiss Reinsurance America Corporation, a leading global insurance company with $5 billion in revenue and a team of 450 people. Twenty-four years of experience in the insurance industry. He holds an MBA from Northwestern University and is currently a member of the board of directors of the American Association of Insurance Services and the American Property and Casualty Insurance Association.

Reggie J. Turner, Washington County, Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission —President and financial planner of Turner Wealth Management in Hagerstown. Formerly Vice President and Financial Advisor of PNC Bank. He is a member of the Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture, as well as president of the Western Maryland Community Development Corporation and a member of the Meritus Health Foundation.

Melissa A. Noel, Washington County, Maryland Economic Development Commission— Owner and operator of Noel’s Fire Protection Management Services, Inc., Noel’s Realty Holdings, LLC, The Williamsport Yarn Closet and The Ice Cream Shop in Hagerstown. 2021 Washington County Leadership Graduate and a member of the Washington County Chamber of Commerce, Greater Hagerstown Committee, and Hagerstown Arts and Entertainment Advisory Board.

Maria P. Rodriguez, Frederick County, Maryland Health Benefit Exchange—Owner of MPR Business Solutions, LLC (provides paralegal, notary, and administrative services to law firms) and executive director of the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Maryland.

Hon. Barbara K. Howe, Baltimore County, Maryland Higher Education Commission—Retired Judge, Baltimore County Circuit Court. Currently as Settlement Master, Circuit Court of Baltimore County. She is the former President of the Maryland Bar Association and the former Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Community College of Baltimore County.

Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D., Talbot County, Maryland Higher Education Commission– Retired Superintendent of State Schools, former Superintendent of Talbot County Schools, former Superintendent of Schools in the Bay Shore Union Free School District in New York, and former teacher and vice-principal of Caroline County Public Schools.

Anthony J. McAllister, Prince George’s County Parole Board, Maryland—Juvenile probation and parole officer for the city of Alexandria, VA for 30 years. Sits on the Prince George’s County Commission on Fathers, Men and Boys.

Benjamin N. Seidel, Worcester County, Maryland Tourism Development Board—President and CEO of Real Hospitality Group and Chairman of the Marriott Owners Council for the Aloft brand. Member of the Board of Directors of the American Hotel and Lodging Association.

Dori Bishop Kelso, CPA, Baltimore County, University System of Maryland Board of Trustees—President and Chief Operating Officer of Bishop and Associates and 135 Advisory Management LLC. Member of the Board of Trustees of the University of Maryland St. Joseph’s Medical Center Foundation and the CPA Association of Maryland, and former Member of the Maryland Behavioral Health Advisory Council and Founding Director of Harford County Land Trust.

Farah Helal, Howard County, University System of Maryland Board of Trustees— Student regent. She is a sophomore in Honors College at UMBC majoring in Global Studies and Political Science and is a Sondheim Public Affairs Program Fellow where she received the Jacob Blaustein Public Affairs Award. Director of Government Affairs for UMBC SGA and Co-Director of Government Relations for the USM Student Council.

“I am extremely proud of the Appointments Office and the process that enables Governor Hogan to fill important volunteer positions in the State of Maryland,” Secretary Cavey said. “Each of these qualified candidates has valuable experience in their field that will serve them well in their respective roles.”

Dating back to 17th century England, the term “green bag” refers to the green satchel that is used once a year to bring gubernatorial nominations to the Senate. It’s a long-standing tradition for a member of the Governor’s staff to present the bag once a year to the Maryland State Senate.

A list of Green Bag appointments can be found here.